Perpetually Busy

Like all students, I am perpetually busy. It does seem to me though, that sometimes this comes in all-consuming waves. The rest of this month just seems to be so jam-packed with things, that I don’t quite know where to begin.

 

So here’s a list of all the things that I’ve got going on right now.

  1. Marking – final marking for the semester needs to be completed as soon as possible.
  2. Preparing for workshops – There’s still a few materials that need to be pulled together before I can definitely do these, and I need to find time to do that.
  3. Writing – I have to work on a chapter of my thesis, and a chapter of my resource, this is already late.
  4. Journal article – I need to get the next round of edits done, and then the next one, so that I can submit by the end of November.
  5. Travel – I am heading to Melbourne for a week, back for a week, and then back to Melbourne again for the rest of this month & the beginning of December.
  6. Application – I am applying for the Educational Fellowship Scheme, which needs editing, reviews and so on, for submission by the 30th November.
  7. Training – I need to complete the teacher training course I am doing as soon as I can. I have 4 modules left to do, each one about 2 hours, plus writing reflections for all 10, which will take me probably an hour each. So 18 hours of work.
  8. Other projects – At home I am working on a big project that has nothing to do with my PhD, but has to be finished by the 16th.

Because there is so much going on, in addition to the day-to-day stuff, I am feeling a little insane, with my brain constantly in overdrive. Hopefully I can get some of these massive things ticked off my list soon.

Whenever I get into a situation like this, I work really hard to make sure that I don’t neglect the other aspects of my life. To me, during this time it is even more important to meet up for coffees, and stay in touch with people. I try to find time to exercise when I can – even if it’s not what I’d normally do (in this case, I don’t have the energy to go for my usual runs, so I’ve been trying to walk more instead). And I try to eat reasonably, although I don’t stress about it if I can’t manage it.

I know this is often the position of a PhD student. I don’t think that this makes this situation any better for me or for anyone else. But I am glad that I don’t have to feel like this all the time.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

