Overwhelmed by knowledge

One of the biggest problems that I have as a researcher is academic reading. As a kid, I was a voracious reader of fiction – especially sci-fi and fantasy – I would often read almost a novel a day. For some reason though, I find academic reading so difficult to do.

I find that I am slow, and that the knowledge is hard to absorb. I usually have to read something twice to be able to get anything good out of it, and then a third time to consolidate the ideas into something usable. This is time consuming for me – and considering how fast I’m used to reading (and remembering the contents), it is extremely frustrating.

In general, I avoid it. Which is a terrible thing to say, but is also completely honest. I will do every single other task (and exhaust every social media feed) before I pick up an article to read. When I do pick up something, I find that I start skimming the paragraphs very quickly, not taking anything in, and then have to read each paragraph a few times to even know what it’s talking about. If I do manage to read something well, I get agitated with all the thoughts that I have and all the responses I want to write to points made.

Sometimes, I get distracted by all the things that I don’t know. Someone will drop a quote from someone, and I’ll realise that’s an article that’s incredibly important to my research but I knew nothing about and then I will feel like there’s so much background information I have to read that  I can’t possibly focus on the one I’m reading.

This feeling of having so much to read is another reason that I struggle to start reading anything. Where should I start? There’s 6 big fields that I have to get my head around, and every time I read an “entry” type article or book, it explodes out into another 50 or more things that I need to read. Which is completely overwhelming.

I know that I can’t possibly read everything for my project, but I do need to read enough in each area to have more than a foundational knowledge of each topic. The process of choosing these articles is not meant to be easy. I need to read more than is necessary to be able to decide on which ones are useful. I need to read the foundational materials, the material that is relevant to my project, and the cutting edge of the field.

I think that feeling overwhelmed by the amount of reading I have to do is not a bad thing. It just can’t be something that stops me from actually doing the readings. I don’t really know how to deal with this at the moment. I’m trying to set aside reading times and read a minimum of an article or a chapter a day, but it is still not something that’s easy. For example, this post has been written in the middle of a reading session, because the idea was solidified by something that I read in the article. I need better ways of taking notes – and to actually remember to take them. And I need to find a better way to hold all the knowledge in my head and not forget it all immediately.

Back to my motto I guess. One thing at a time. Just keep going. Do one thing, then the next thing, and so on, and eventually you’ve got more done than you ever planned.

This entry was posted in Research, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

