Changes and opportunities

There has been a good reason for my silence lately… I have been working away preparing for a couple of amazing opportunities this year.

One of them is a teaching position at another university in Australia (halfway across the country from home, but the things we do for opportunities). I am really excited about this opportunity because, while it is only for twelve weeks, I actually will be teaching the majority of the course. This includes the lecturing and the tutorials. I’m glad that I have some experience teaching now, so I’m not feeling nearly as nervous as I was a year ago, but delivering consistent lectures will be a new experience (even though I’ve given guest lectures before) and I’m looking forward to the challenge. I have to remember to wear comfortable shoes…

The other opportunity is a visiting PhD grant at a university in Denmark. This will be five weeks this year, starting in October. I’m really looking forward to meeting and working with the people in my field there, and I’m really excited to have gotten a grant for it too.

So at the moment, I am on leave from the PhD itself, while I do this teaching semester. I hope to be able to do some work on it here and there, but with 32 hours of structured work a week, there isn’t a whole lot of time for much else.

Stay tuned for more updates on how the teaching goes, and if I manage to do any research/PhD work while I’m here!

This entry was posted in PhD Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

